Featured Post


  February 9 - 19 Laundry and Bourbon and Lone Star by James McLure Two One-Acts SOUTHERN COMEDY Laundry and Bourbon roles...

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

ONSTAGE2010 Awards Gala

The ONSTAGE2010 Awards Gala was a magnificent event on November 19. With décor by Tony Trevino – Event Planner, music by the Red River Jazz Band and a menu from Pete Falcone that was marvelous, the City Park Players celebrated the magical moments that were brought to life during the 62nd consecutive year, the 2010 Season.

Jack’s Legacy assisted with the spirits and then the awards ceremony which included snippets of the plays produced this year were presented. Julian Anderson, who later received an award, opened the show with an acapella rendition of the opening number from Pippin.  Master of Ceremonies, Jim Leggett along with Wanda Schenk presented various board members who, in turn, presented awards to the recipients of the Viewers’ Choice Awards. 

Best Performance by Female Newcomer – Presented by Frith Harwood and Jim Weinzettle:
Emily Pears as Catherine in Pippin

Best Performance by Male Newcomer – Presented by Belle Bindursky and Stu Riggar:
Julian Anerson as The Leading Player in Pippin

Best Performance by Female Actor in a Supporting Role – Presented by Betty Conner & Frith Harwood:   Theresa Louviere as Rose in God’s Favorite

Best Performance by Male Actor in a Supporting Role – Presented by H. Wendell Isadore & Helen Moore:  Mark Gillette as Arthur Kipps/Actor in The Woman In Black

Best Performance by Female Actor in a Leading Role -- Presented by Theresa Louviere and Bradley Smith
Andrea Martin as Stella Kyser in Steal Away

Best Performance by Male Actor in a Leading Role – Presented by Diane Falcone & Stu Riggar
Jim Weinzettle as Joe Benjamin in God’s Favorite

Best Set – Presented by Belle Bindursky & Betty Conner
God’s Favorite designed by Jim Weinzettle

Best Director – Presented by Diane Falcone & Bradley Smith
Rosa Metoyer – Steal Away

Star Awards – Presented by Jean Holliday
Sylvia Davis in Steal Away
Dan Forest in God’s Favorite
Emily Pears in Pippin
Erin Fuenning in The Woman In Black

Best Show – Presented by Paula Antee
Steal Away – A Folk Tale by Ramona King – Directed by Rosa Metoyer

Board of Directors President Paula Antee presented 2 PRESIDENT'S AWARDS:  The first one to Jim Leggett, who has volunteered on so many occasions in the last year and the other to Frith Harwood, who has been a mentor to her since she first arrived in Central Louisiana.

The cast of the CPP Readers’ Theatre production of All The King’s Men were recognized and an excerpt  was performed by Jackson Sleet who portrayed Willie Stark.

The 2011 Season Brochure was introduced and attendees were offered a special 10% discount for buying their season tickets that evening at the event.

Wanda Schenk, a festival commissioner for AACT (American Association of Community Theatres) announced the upcoming 2011AACT Festival Louisiana,  February 18-19 in Westwego, LA.

Corporate Sponsors for the ONSTAGE2010 Award Gala festivities include Christus St. Francis Cabrini Hospital, Red River Bank, KLAX-TV ABC-31, CenLA Focus, Jack’s Legacy and Tony Trevino - Event Planner.  

After the awards the celebration continued with dancing as the Red River Jazz Band played another set and Pete Falcone served handmade gelato, chocolate mousse cream puffs and other delectable desserts.

The evening concluded as the silent auction winners were announced. Items featured included artworks by acclaimed local artists; Michele Byrd, Peter Milder, Myron & Marilyn Wellan, Nancy Noles, and Suzan Richey. There were gift certificates from Diamond Grill, Kitchen Warehouse, About Face, Randall’s Formal Wear, Paragon Casino Resort, Ciao Bella Salon, CHRISTUS Healthy Living Spa, and Ricky’s Hair Salon.  Additional items included an Andrea Candela Silver, Gold & Diamond Pendant from Patton’s Fine Jewelry, a pair of Riedel Crystal Wine Glasses from John Ward Interiors, a holiday wine basket from Hokus Pokus Liquors, and a Limited Edition Louisiana Commemorative Hermes Scarf which was a donation from Betty Vickars.

City Park Players, Central Louisiana Community Theatre is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization committed to offering quality cultural activities and experiences to the entire Central Louisiana community through live theatre productions, programming, and education.  The 2010 season was supported, in part, by grants from the Louisiana Division of the Arts and Roy O. Martin Foundation as administered by the Arts Council of Central Louisiana.  
Additional support comes from our patrons and donors and people like you who believe that community theatre enriches our lives and enhances our quality of life.

Call 442-1800 or email cityparkplayers@gmail.com for more information.   

No comments: